P90X2 Phase 1:Foundation Review

p90x2_base

Phase 1:
So I signed myself up for the Warrior Dash as some of you know, because I have posted a link to our fundraising site on this blog. After making good progress (a loss of 42 lbs) post-baby, I knew I still needed something to push me to get in the kind of shape needed to succeed and not merely survive the challenge ahead. I turned to P90X2. I heard rave reviews on the products Tony Horton has put out and decided to go for it!

Starting stats: Weight:145 lbs Waist: 30.5 inches Total inches: 168.5
Phase 1 Ending stats: Weight:135 lbs Waist:29 inches Total inches:162
Results: Down 10 lbs, loss of 6.5 inches, and more definition.

Note: I did not order the shakeology or nutritional supplements pushed by Tony Horton. I ate what I normally would eat. With that said, you know my philosophy by now on food so take that into consideration. I believe that you should not take supplements unless prescribed by your nutritionist or doctor. ACE (a leading Nationally recognized brand for exercise professional certifications) states in the ethics section that they do not believe it is within the scope of practice for exercise professionals to push or recommend these products. I agree.

Phase 1 Foundation consists of the following:

Day1: X2 Core Day2: Plyocide Day3: Rest or X2 Recovery + Mobility Day4: X2 Total Body & X2 Ab Ripper Day 5: X2 Yoga Day 6: X2 Balance+ Power Day 7: Rest or X2 Recovery + Mobility

The best part of this phase is it teaches your body how to stabilize and strengthen what needs to be strong in order to progress. This phase also shows how important it is to recover and introduces foam rolling. Be certain you are ready for the challenges these exercises will place on your body. There is a test you should take, included in the set, before attempting the program.

I love the way the X2 Yoga is set up. It really challenges your muscles and gives you the permission to fail. While everything about P90X2 is challenging, you can definitely relax in the fact that there is no pressure to be perfect, but he does motivate you to push yourself. There are modifications available for almost every exercise. Sometimes you don’t get the modified information until after you have “started” the exercise, but over time of doing the phase you will learn them and know when to do them. I also like that you can up the intensity with alternate versions of the same exercise. The explanations of the exercises are nice because you can visualize what your body should be doing and how you should be engaging different muscles.

This phase adds a new dimension to fitness you may have tried in the past. The plan suggests working a group of muscles together along with the connective tissue will build better strength and mobility. It is a growing, newer concept in the fitness world. You first have to build up individual muscle strength to correctly engage the connective tissue and perform these movements. If one muscle is too weak to perform a movement that takes a team of muscles and connective tissues, then you could risk injury. This is why it is important to do the fitness test that comes with it. Also if you have heart health issues, metabolic diseases, or high blood pressure, please consult a doctor before performing this. It is a high intensity routine and takes cardiovascular endurance as well on some routines.

If you are not in condition to start this program yet, maybe start off with walking and jogging interval training style. Slowly build up endurance for 45 minutes of continuous, vigorous activity. Good heart health is an excellent foundation to fitness. Add 2 days of resistance training (2-3 sets of 8 exercises at 6-12 repetitions) to create a base to build on. Once you feel comfortable try the fitness test again. Focus on areas you were weak on previously to help you be ready for the challenge.

I have almost completed the final phase 3 and feel that each phase has definitely brought its challenges and pushed my limits. I even feel that I could go back through the program again and get even better results as I continue to get stronger. I love the way this program works for me and allows me to pace myself as I need to. If you are looking for a challenge and want to improve your fitness, then this system might be right for you!

Equipment Needed to Perform:
-They do have versions of exercises without much equipment. These usually still require different band resistances.
-Balance/Stability ball -up to 4 Medicine balls -Chin up and pull up bar -Resistance bands -Plyobox/ sturdy chair -Hand weights -Yoga mat -Foam roller – Door Hook Anchor for resistance bands

Overall Rating : 9/10

Leave a comment