Image

Birthday Reflections!

Birthday Reflections!

Today I turn 27. This is scary to me, as silly as it may sound. Sometimes I feel like I haven’t accomplished anything and have so much left to learn. Yet upon reflecting, I see there is a lot I have done. This seems like a good day to remind myself from where I have come. Anyone who knows me understands well that I do not see myself as glowingly as others. I share this in the hopes that others can be inspired.

The incredible amount of obstacles I have faced are too many to tell, so I will focus on simply my weight and health progress. In 2005 I married the love of my life and we wanted to start a family shortly after. Try as we may it wasn’t happening. I was 126 lbs when we met and over a few years, in spite of being active I was gaining weight until one day I stepped on the scale at a frightening 209 lbs. My body looked strong, but was severely overweight. Frustrated and angry I felt like a failure, in spite of my efforts. I tried diet plans, supplements, workout videos, and gadgets. Nothing seemed to work. I found out I had PCOS (Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome) and took action. Research showed that the problem was not as simple as I thought. My doctor put me on metformin and I began to use the research I found to fuel my diet. This also fueled my interest in exercise science. I decided to go back to school and major in something that could help me and others achieve a better life.

Three years later, 76 lbs lighter, and symptoms under control I finally got my prize. A beautiful baby boy. Knowing what a battle it was to get down to size I immediately got to work on losing the baby weight and dropped 54 lbs in 9 months. Soon after I dropped those pounds, I was pregnant again with a baby girl. I gained about the same with her as I did with my son. She just turned 8 months and I am already at 127, almost the same weight as when I met my husband 8 1/2 years ago. I am able to do things I wasn’t able to do before. With my symptoms under control I feel more empowered to keep going.

The key I found is living in moderation. True self-control and being present when eating make a huge difference! You can enjoy your food and eat well enough to actually fuel your body. Train your palate to have higher standards and your waistline will thank you. Don’t keep things “off limits.” Eat what you love in moderation and you won’t feel deprived. Make time for yourself to get in the shape you need to enjoy your life, whatever your goals may be. When you live like this, you won’t gain the weight back. You also can give your loved ones the best version of yourself possible. There is no reason to go on a diet and deprive yourself and those you love. You and your loved ones are worth much more!

Leave a Reply

